www.Sozialgeschnatter.de

(beta)

R.I.P., Whitney Houston!

leave a comment »

It really saddens me to hear that Whitney Houston, one of the best pop/soul singers of all time (IMHO), has passed away at age 48. During my time as a music journalist, I only met her once (for an interview at Arista Records‘ office in New York City). She was 19 at the time and had just recorded a song which, to me, still is one of the greatest performances she ever did: „Memories“ on Material’s „One Down“ album, featuring Archie Shepp on saxophone.

Of course, I have been following her career since then. One of my favorite pop hits has been „Saving All My Love for You“. Here is a particularly fine performance on the David Letterman Show in 1985.

I met Whitney’s then-husband Bobby Brown in Atlanta/Georgia in 1992 (for an interview about his album „Bobby“). For a while, her tempestuous relationship with Bobby made more headlines than her musical achievements.

However, as a fan of gospel music, I really enjoyed Whitney’s performances in the movie „The Preacher’s Wife“.

And I was very happy to see that Whitney enjoyed a fine comeback with her 2009 album „I Look to You“ – which she was able to back up live:

While we are on the topic of Whitney, here is my favorite song her mother Cissy Houston was involved in (as part of the group Sweet Inspirations: „Why Am I Treated So Bad“).

R.I.P., Whitney!

Written by Peter Jebsen

12. Februar 2012 um 5:21

Schreibe einen Kommentar

